Synopses

So soon after I claim my inability to right anything so sophisticated as a novel review, I today attempted to reply to a topic at sffworld where it asked users to give the title, author, and brief description of a fantasy novel from a particular time frame (in this case, the 1980s). Thomas Covenant had been mentioned by name, so naturally I decided to bring up the same author’s other major work of that time period – Mordant’s Need. The thing is, when I set out to briefly give some idea of what the book was, I found instead that I’d written a fairly good (if I may say so myself) summation of the idea behind the novel, so while I still think I may be unable to critique, it seems I may just be passable at writing summaries to give people an idea of what the novels are.
Of course, now I have no idea what to do with my post at that forum – it goes into far too much detail for the purposes of the original thread, but I can’t think of anything else to do with it.

Leave a Reply

