Dammit.

I wrote half a chapter today for the new PoV character, and I hate it. I dodn’t know enough about the character or what was going on to do it right, and instead found myself giving far too much backstory and no characterisation at all. I also wrote in a character that shouldn’t really appear until near the end, and then went and made him spout paragraphs of pure exposition. Blearch (vomiting noise).
In the last chapter or two, I feel I’ve stopped letting the story flow and instead started trying to dirve it in the direction I want it to go, and it’s just terrible. The story I’m turning it into just doesn’t fit – I’m somehow trying to tack this sci-fi-ish concept onto a fantasy story, and it doesn’t fit in any way at all. I’m going to have to try again, and see if I can come up with something else. Maybe try to go back to the other character for a little while.

One thought on “Dammit.

  1. It sounds like its getting to a frustrating place right now. Remember that this happens to everyone — even very experienced pros like George R. R. Marin, who told us what a rough time he had with AFFC when he first began writing it.

    Hang in there! :-)

    duchy

Leave a Reply

