Things

  • The World Fantasy Awards were given out at this year’s World Fantasy Convention a little over a week ago, with Nnedi Okorafor’s Who Fears Death taking the Best Novel prize – another one I’d been meaning to add to my pile. Full results on the official site here.
  • I read one issue of Electric Velocipede (issue 12, Spring 2007) before picking up another novel. I guess I’ll slip these old zines in between my other reading instead of all at once.
    I have two more Velocipedes left. Digging through my cupboard yielded 7 issues of Weird Tales (4 or 5 unread) from 2007 and 2008, one HP Lovecraft’s Magazine of Horror (think it came free with a Weird Tales), and the Bull Spec from last year.
  • Jeff & Ann VanderMeer have started a new online publication, Weird Fiction Review, with all sorts of great, weird content, that’s well worth checking out.
    Right now there’s a bit of a focus on the VanderMeers’ new anthology, THE WEIRD: A Compendium of Dark and Strange Stories, which collects over 100 years of weird fiction, including works in translation some of which have never before been published in English.
Leave a Reply

