Renewed Zeal

I am tearing through books lately. Haven’t made time to read so consistently since University. I did intend to write up more than Splinter last week but couldn’t think of what to say. Since that one, I’ve also read Old Man’s War by John Scalzi, graphic novel Big Questions by Anders Nilsen, the Chronicles of the Black Company trilogy by Glen Cook, Angela Carter’s The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman, and over the weekend I bought and read the comic/memoir Fun Home by Alison Bechdel.

I’ve read almost as many new books in the first few months of this year as I did in the whole twelve months before it. Hope I can keep up the pace.

I’m still not in a place where I can say I’m familiar with many of the books that are getting nominated for awards this year, however. The Hugo Awards nominations were announced over the weekend, and I’ve read one book on the Best Novel ballot. I’m more than two years behind on China Miéville (Kraken remains to be read before I broach Embassytown), and the others I’ve not gotten round to even thinking of buying.

It’s kind of a false milestone, though, because I’m not actually seeking these things out. I’m thinking about attending the London 2014 Worldcon, at which point I might actually put some effort in so I can know what I’ll be voting on.

Leave a Reply

