Book-A-Week

My reading has slowed down lately, mostly due to time spent TV watching* (and, yes, some Diablo 3, though I’ve been finding it a little dull). So to get myself back on track, and challenge myself a little, I’ve decided from now forward I’m going to commit to reading at least one book a week, for as long as I care to keep going**.

At that rate it would take me a couple of years to clear my backlog of unread books. I may end up going faster. I won’t count individual graphic novels and comics, since I often read those in just one or two sittings.

I’ll start it off this week by finishing my current read, Margo Lanagan’s short story collection Black Juice. I’ll update on what I’ve read and what I’m reading next on Mondays.

* Two seasons of Veronica Mars in a little over two weeks. It’s a great show, but I missed it when it was new. I like that it can be smart, complicated, and not feel like it needs to spell it all out.
** I know I’m not the first to do this; I’ve seen lots of variations along the lines of “52 in 52” challenges.

Leave a Reply

