Things

Since I’ve been quiet lately:

1.
Book-A-Week – Last week’s read was Seized by Lynne Cantwell. This is the first book I’ve not chosen myself – it was chosen by the folks taking part in the tiny little book club I started over on Kevin’s Watch. I skipped writing a Book-A-Week post about this one. I just didn’t have a lot to say about it.

2.
John Scalzi: Solving My Racist Sexist Homophobic Dipshit Problem – Click that link to see how author John Scalzi responds when a bigoted writer takes to regularly insulting him and stirring up people into posting hate-filled comments. Every time the blogger in question mentions Scalzi in a post in 2013, he’s going to add $5 to a fund to donate to several organisations that promote equal rights for women, homosexuals, and people of colour, up to a maximum of $1000 – and lots of people are pledging to match that donation. At the time I write this, up to $36,000 has been pledged.

3.
Criminal Minds – I’ve spent a lot of time this past week watching the seventh season of Criminal Minds. Apart from an execrable season opener (seriously, it was awful, but I suspect its only purpose was to restore the status quo then move on), it’s a pretty solid season – the show is chugging along and its usual standard.

I noticed that these days almost none of the episodes involve any kind of mystery about who the unsub is; they’re always about how and/or why. Which is playing to the show’s strengths, I guess, but I kind of missed having a little of that element. In this season instead you get to follow along with most of these killers and see what they’re doing as it unfolds, which can be fun. Some excellent guest stars in this one.

4.
Loncon3 – I finally went ahead and bought myself attending membership for Loncon3, the 2014 World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). Unless something else pops up, this will be my first convention. It’s a year and a half away and I’m already nervous.

5.
Neil Gaiman: Down Among the Dead Men – And finally, here’s an animated short story by Neil Gaiman. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

