What I’m Reading

I’ve been too quiet, so here’s a brief word on the various things I’m in the middle of.

The novel I’m reading right now – I’m about halfway through it – is Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House. Between this and We Have Always Lived in the Castle (which I read a few months back), I’m convinced I now need to go out and buy every single thing that Shirley Jackson ever wrote. She’s just that good.

In between books, I’m currently working my way through two completed comic series: Y: The Last Man and Transmetropolitan.

Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man is excellent so far. I’m two books into the five-book Deluxe Editions of the series, and it’s one of the strongest series I’ve read. I’m a little leery of one particular aspect of the story, the use of a kind of militant radical feminist cult as a major antagonist, but overall this is a solidly entertaining series with some points to make about sexism in society. It also likes to poke metatextual fun at itself from time to time.

Warren Ellis’ Transmetropolitan is political, funny, and incredibly weird. It’s all about Spider Jerusalem, a misanthropic reporter in a fucked-up future city. Two volumes in (there are ten in total), I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

