My Final Hugo Nominations

It’s the last day for Hugo nominations, and I’m pretty sure my ballot will not be changing any more, so here’s what I ended up putting down. As expected, I skipped a lot of categories due to unfamiliarity with the work.

Best Novel
The Shining Girls – Lauren Beukes
Rupetta – Nike Sulway
The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
Ancillary Justice – Ann Leckie
The Summer Prince – Alaya Dawn Johnson

In total I’ve only read 11 novels published in 2013, and these are my five favourites from that small sample. I do wish I’d had time to get round to more.

Best Related Work
Wonderbook – Jeff VanderMeer
We Have Always Fought – Kameron Hurley (essay)
Tropes Vs Women in Video Games: Damsel in Distress – Anita Sarkeesian

Same things I mentioned in my last post. Could have done with reading around more for ideas.

Best Graphic Story
Locke & Key – Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez
Saga vol. 2 – Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Bad Machinery: The Case of the Forked Road – John Allison
The Encyclopedia of Early Earth – Isabel Greenberg

I was going through all the various comics and graphic novels I’ve read over the last year trying to work out what best fit my ballot, and decided Greenberg’s book was worth the spot. I considered putting down The Unwritten’s volume 7, The Wound, but felt it was weaker than volume 6 and so passed it over. For the number of comics I’ve been reading this past year, it was surprisingly hard to pick ones I felt deserved a Hugo nomination.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)
Her
Gravity
Tomb Raider
Europa Report

I watched Her last month and really loved it, so threw it straight onto the ballot. Europa Report I quickly slipped in yesterday after seeing it on a lot of other ballots. And Tomb Raider I’ve also seen on a lot of others, and since I thought it was quite a visually stunning game, decided to put it on mine.

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)
Black Mirror, “Be Right Back”
Cargo
Welcome to Night Vale, “One Year Later”
An Adventure in Space and Time

No changes here. I have a feeling there are going to be some problems with An Adventure in Space and Time on the final ballot, because it’s listed as either 90 minutes or 83 minutes depending on where you look, and a lot of people are putting it in Long Form.

Best Professional Artist
Olly Moss
Julie Dillon
Joey HiFi
Fiona Staples
J H Williams III

As well as the few of my own favourites I took a look around and picked out some more I really liked the work of to fill out the ballot. I had mentioned Noelle Stephenson in my last post, but I ultimately decided if I want to honour Nimona, a better place to do that is in next year’s Graphic Story nominations, where it’ll be eligible in itself.

Best Fan Writer
Foz Meadows
Kameron Hurley

I confess to once again being woefully underread in a category, but these are two of the people I follow and they write some very strong stuff on the genre and fandom.

John W Campbell Award

I wasn’t going to nominate here, but I’m currently reading A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar, and while I don’t feel it’s quite making it onto my Best Novel ballot, it’s strong enough that I wanted to put Samatar down somewhere – so she gets my only Campbell nomination.

One response to “My Final Hugo Nominations

  1. Pingback: Hugo Award Shortlist | Inspiration Struck

Leave a Reply

