Edinburgh 2015 – Day 1

I’m back in Edinburgh this weekend for my annual visit to the Edinburgh fringe festival. Only staying two nights this year, and yesterday was my first day. As usual, I planned my whole trip out in advance, and as usual the plans didn’t last long.

I arrived in the afternoon just late enough to not be able to go to the first free show I’d intended to after checking in to the hotel, so instead I took a look at what was starting soon and went to see a free show by Hari Sriskantha. It was a decent enough standup set, though maybe a bit unpolished; worth it if you’re just looking to kill some time like I was.

My first paid show was a little bit later, this was Rhys James: Remains. James does standup mixed with some poetry, and the show was smart and well done – I enjoyed it a lot. Recommended. Afterwards, I was meant to go to another free show, which was at a venue quite a long way out from everywhere else. Me being me, I managed to talk myself out of seeing it by the time I got there. Instead, I walked all the way back where I’d came and went for a proper meal, which I probably wouldn’t have done if I’d gone to the show.

I figured I’d fit in another free show after dinner, since I had a lot of time left over, and decided to go and see Ahir Shah’s show. I saw Shah in the same place last year, and it was one of my favourite shows, so it seemed like a good bet. Unfortunately, when I got there the room was full, so I had to miss out. On top of that, it was now only a bit more than an hour until my next show, and I couldn’t see anything else I could get to that would be over in time. I went back to my hotel and spent an hour catching up with newly revealed Hearthstone cards instead.

The third show of the day was Luisa Omielan’s “Am I Right Ladies?!”. This one was a lot of fun, my favourite of the day. The show’s filled with a lot of positive messages about sex and body image and dealing with depression, all wrapped up in Omielan’s ridiculous clowning – it’s a very funny show, and well worth seeing. Unfortunately,  she’s only performing three nights this year.

I ended the night with Loren O’Brien’s “aLOne”. I was surprised by how tiny the audience for this one was for a paid show; only about a dozen people, and I think this maybe spoilt the atmosphere of the show a bit. Honestly this one was a bit underwhelming. I’m not sure exactly why; the jokes were there, and O’Brien seemed like a talented perfomer, but there weren’t really any big laughs from the show and a lot of it seemed to fall flat. I had seen one segment of the show online before going, and O’Brien did it much better there than she did last night, so maybe she just wasn’t quite on form (performing for a mostly empty room can’t help). There’s something very close to a good show there, but she didn’t quite pull it off.

And that was it for my first day at the Fringe. Full day today, so I should see more than yesterday. Here’s hoping they’re all good ones.

Leave a Reply

